Team named for legendary Ty Cobb wins Restricted Bat League title

The Cobbs softball team is named after the legendary Ty Cobb and the players lived up to his legacy with a Restricted Bat League championship this week.

The Cobbs captured the Restricted Bat League playoff softball championship this week.
Ty Cobb’s plaque in the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, N.Y.

The Cobbs beat the (Babe) Ruths 6-5 in the first playoff game on Tuesday. Then, in the championship final, the Cobbs outlasted the (Yogi) Berras, 9-8.

“Every single player contributed to both victories,” said Dean Hooker of the Cobbs. “In both games, we came from behind to win.”

Ty Cobb broke into the Major Leagues in 1906 with the Detroit Tigers and played for 24 seasons. He finished his career with a .366 batting average and made it to the Hall of Fame.

Cobb’s top salary was $50,000 a season, which is maybe why he once said: “The great trouble with baseball today is that most of the players are in the game for the money and that’s it.”

Tony Violanti is a veteran journalist and writes for

COMMENTS DISCLAIMER We encourage users to issue comments that are well-informed and are relevant to the article in question. To be approved for publication, comments should be civil and avoid name-calling, personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity, commercial promotion, or CAPS LOCK. Any comments that fail to meet our criteria may be removed. reserves the right and has sole discretion in removal of any and all comments that fail to meet our criteria. Read our complete terms of service by clicking here.