85.4 F
The Villages
Monday, September 27, 2021

Ruths take down the Cobbs in exciting Restricted Bat League finale

The Ruths outlasted the Cobbs, 7-6, Tuesday in a tense and hard-fought playoff championship game of the softball Restricted Bat League at the Buffalo Glen Softball Complex.

The Ruths came back in the final inning Tuesday to knock off the Cobbs and win the championship game of the softball Restricted Bat League.

The Cobbs had battled back from a three-run deficit by taking a 6-5 lead going into the seventh inning. But the Ruths stormed back in the final frame. Fred King scored the tying run after an infield single by Tom Bergman with one out. Then, after a single by Jack Finn, Lou Daigle delivered another clutch hit to drive in Bergman with the winning run.

It was a tumultuous season for the Ruths, who finished in second place with an 8-3 record. The team was undefeated until its outstanding hitter and co-manager, Mark Muha, was injured late in the season.

Co-manager Don Waters led the team to a playoff championship, thanks to some outstanding plays by outfielders Larry Schiesel and Tony Mitchell. Other member of the Ruths – named after famed New York Yankee legend Babe Ruth – include Ben Osborne, Rob Milazzo, Art Sulmasy and sub Louis Gianino.

More Headlines
Stories in and around The Villages, Florida

The Villages, Florida

Letters to the Editor
Opinions submitted by residents in and around The Villages

COVID-19 takes toll on male sexual performance

A Village of Poinciana resident points to a report that should inspire men to seek the COVID-19 vaccination.

Non-residents using pools in The Villages

A Village of Pine Ridge resident is concerned that non-residents are regularly using swimming pools in The Villages. Read his Letter to the Editor.

There must be a reckoning

A reader from Jupiter Beach, in a Letter to the Editor, declares there must be a reckoning when it comes to former President Trump.

I won’t get the COVID-19 vaccine

A Village of Orange Blossom Gardens resident, who suffered through COVID-19 in December with her husband, explains in a Letter to the Editor why she won’t get the COVID-19 vaccine.

COVID-19-positive aliens coming into America

A Village of Mallory Square resident, in a Letter to the Editor, asks Democrats to admit their hypocrisy as COVID-19-positive aliens flooding into America.

The Villages, Florida